Rambling Thoughts of the day

Were all in trouble now….. I’m contemplating again…. Sorry, but here goes.  So, where to start?

 How about what’s going on?  When I was younger,I just couldn’t wait to get older when things would slow down and get easier… and I’m still waiting.  Oh, for awhile there, I stopped going for the gold in the things I did, but quickly lost my passion, got bored…. and hated every minute of it.  And as dad said. ” son, it’s what you learn after you think you know it all that matters.”  How right he was.  So random thoughts here you go:

A-Fib:  About 9 years ago or so, I started having these random heart beats, where your heart just starts beating fast, skips a beat, then 4 beats, nothing, 6 beats, then it stops, basically going all over the damn place.  It’s quite disconcerting, because you get dizzy, sometimes nauseous, headaches etc.  It really sucks, but it would only happen after I had been ” very nearly over served”  as an old friend used to say at the local watering hole. So, I started paying attention to the ” triggers ” or what the cause was.  Well,the triggers indeed have changed and they now are so random I see no pattern at all.   Now, keep in mind that I’ve been working out for 6 days a week for almost 10 months now, lost 30 lbs, and am in the best shape both mentally and physically of my life… So there…. Now what?  I’ve learned that I’m going to have to live with this, keep positive, and do the best I can.  It will affect my workouts, it will affect my life.  My struggle is not to get down about it, if any of you start suffering from this damn thing, let me know and I’ll tell you what I’ve learned and what I know.

My beautiful granddaughter turned 6 weeks old yesterday, and she learned from Grandma how to make Tacos..  We are truly blessed to have her in our lives, it centers all things. She smiles now, and is growing each and every day.  One of those things in life that just makes you smile.  Having a child is such a life change for the parents.  It’s a huge adjustment and a stress producer, having a strong family to help is necessary, and my son and daughter in law are doing a fantastic job as parents in progress. You can read all the books you want on the subject, but just like everything in life:  ” I hear and I forget, I see and I remember, I do and I understand”.

Let’s move on to another of my passions… Major League Baseball.  Time for reflection:  Why when my interest towards pro sports has gone from passionate to disdain do I still love and follow Major league Baseball??  Good question, thanks for asking.  And I can only say, that I just LOVE the game, the chess game within the game, the game the random fan cannot see.  I’ve made it no secret that I’m a big history lover, and baseball history is full of stories of overcoming obstacles,  quantifying teamwork and learning how to fail 70% of the time and be considered a superstar.  A sport that I was, and am, adequate at best at, and still play mind you @ the ripe old age of 54.  Some once said that the hardest thing in sports to do is hit a round ball with a round bat squarely… and I agree.   So, why have I renewed my passion for my beloved San Francisco Giants after all of these years?? Well for one, I spend a bunch of time last year in the City during my brothers illness, and it renewed my love for the city in general, then I was blessed to go to a Giants game at AT&T park, and that was it, sold… hook….line….and sinker.  For a guy who grew up in Candlestick Park and the apathy that place held for baseball in the Bay Area, the fire that San Francisco now has for the Giants is a constant smile for this guy.  Last year they were in the NL west pennant race till the very end, and now with only a week to go, the San Diego Padres, a huge surprise this year are 1/2 game up on my Giants for the NL West pennant.  And this time of year, when your team is in a pennant race, and each pitch, catch, lucky bounce means something…… it just doesn’t get any better than that for a baseball fan.  Part of what keeps me training so hard and working out so hard is my drive to play hardball again after 10 years riding with the Cavalry.  So, next year, that’s what I’m doing.   So, COME ON GIANTS!!!  You can do this!!

It’s been quite awhile since they’ve been in the playoffs, and It would be SO COOL!!!!   But win or lose, it’s been a GREAT 2010 season for this old guy, one that has me watching the MLB Channel all the time checking on the scores.  I’ve posted an article before on the Giant’s new rookie Catcher Buster Posey, when he first was recalled, and after almost 400 at bats this season his numbers are as follows:

In 98 games, 368 at bats, he’s got 118 hits, 23 doubles, 15 HR’s, 62 RBI’s,  Batting Average: .321 with a .369 on base pct.  UNBELIEVABLE numbers for any Catcher in the league much less a rookie in his first season.  He’s the real deal folks, go out and see him play, you’ll go home shaking your head at his ability to handle a pitching staff at his young age and the way this kid hits the ball.  It lo0ks like he’s been in the league for a decade, not under a full season.

So this weekend series with the Padres is HUGE!!!  And I’ll be following it to the very end. 

One more thing and I’ll shut up…. I’m loving my TurboFire workouts!!!  This is a fun, fun, fun program that motivates you to move your butt, and push it hard.  Chalene Johnson is a great trainer and after my 3 rounds of P90X, this is the cardio burn that will take me to the next level.  Thank you Beachbody for changing my life, my passion, my dreams and goals.  Go to my Beachbody link on my homepage to get more info, and watch this……  get ready to burn!!

http://beachbodycoach.com/esuite/home/senseishaw?bctid=82703972001

5 Comments

  1. Love your thoughts Tim! Keep thinking positive. If you need anything you let me know
    I will be cheering for your Giants to come out of the NL. I want someone new in the series this year.
    Lynda is putting her shakeology on hold for one month so we can use up some surplus of shakeology. To get her PV she wants to order turbofire. She is pumped to do it. I didn’t bring this up. She did! I have created a monster! LOL

    Thanks Sensei! You da Man!

  2. That’s awesome that you guys are going to dive into TurboFire. You’ll love it.
    Don’t get frustrated by the Moves, be patient, and once you’ve done them a few times, it’ll come much easier.

  3. Great blog!

  4. THis huge Mets fan is a recent New YOrk transplant to the Bay Area. An unexpected benefit is being treated to one of the most exciting pennant races in years. I have watched almost every Giant game for hte past 3 weeks and I attended my first game at ATT park last week , a 2=1 victory over hte Dodgers. Although I am not a Giant fan — I grew up in L.A. as a Dodger fan — I can’t help but admire their incredible pitching staff, both starters and bulpen. I can’t wait to see how this plays out. The Padre series that you referred to is still a week away — it is the final seiries of the year. Wouldn’t it be great if it came down to that final Sunday?

  5. Thanks for the note Keitho… You’re right.. Colorado it today and this weekend, another huge series in this race. I fly into the Bay Area once a year to stay at the St. Francis Hotel in Union Square and go to two Giants games over the weekend. This year is was the Met’s series right after the all star game. Not good for the Mets cause they were swept, but a great series if you’re a Giants fan. Bats came alive big time yesterday, this is one guy who hopes they keep it up.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment